, attached to 2016-09-04

Review by yEEt_1331

yEEt_1331 Wow, just wow. Set 1, while seeming like relatively standard fare on paper, was played with exceptional energy and without major flubs or mistakes top to bottom. You can just tell that the band took on every single song with balls and it paid off wonderfully. Bathtub Gin and Tube got some jamming treatment as well which is always nice. Set 2, just listen to it start to finish. My jaw was on the stadium bleacher floor the entire time. Incredible HOSE Crosseyed opener, a perfectly placed and well played Steam that served a great stopgap for a killer Piper with all four band members on the drums. They decided to follow this up with arguably the best “Type I” Light to date, and yes that holds up still in 2022, in my humble opinion. The Lizards is the cooldown song of the set, again impeccably played. First Tube was a great closer as it always usually is. Can’t argue too much about a Walls of the Cave encore, I really enjoy the song and was perfectly satisfied with it. My first show was 1/3/15, and this night was my fifth. I’ve seen 17 shows since then, with the best of them including 7/30, 8/1, 8/2, and 8/4 at the Baker’s Dozen, and 8/3/18 Alpharetta. But 9/4/16 has remained my favorite, and for damn good reason.
, attached to 2022-08-14

Review by MrDougDoug

MrDougDoug This show is bound to be completely forgotten by time, but I want to say that I absolutely loved this second set. I feel like Trey really wanted the Energy to be the """Ruby Waves""" of the weekend and put a lot of pressure on himself and the band to deliver a big jam out of an unexpected track (a move they had been pulling all weekend with Fluffhead, Number Line, Ass Handed, Moma), and it wasn't quite connecting. Instead of trying to blow the roof off, he just decided to have take off the pressure and have some well-earned fun. That Jibboo was among the most perfectly placed of all time, and completely re-built the band's mojo. Soul Planet was rapturous. The compound bend riff that Trey makes up, then re-interpolates into a non-bendy version is sublime. The rest of the set felt like a 1992 set 20 years later. Reba had everyone in my section of the lawn crying. Martian Monster > Broken Heart Attack > HYHU > Martian Monster was as old school antic fun as it gets. Possum > Slave was a perfect cap. Not a jam-filled donut kind of set, but an incredibly unique set to see in 2022.
, attached to 2022-08-14

Review by rdm331

rdm331 I don’t get all the hate for this show. I couch toured it, and I thought their playing was some of the tightest and most energetic I’ve heard this year. Segues were smooth and seamless. Was the setlist “songy” and were the jams not particularly deep? Yes. So maybe they were short on improvisational ideas. Would you rather that they try to jam longer and then complain about the quality of the jams?? The claims that they ran out of energy are particularly puzzling. The ending of everything’s right was exceptionally energetic. Complain all you want about the placement of rift, but it was played with a lot more fire and accuracy than is standard these days. And Trey nailed sugar shack for once! Fishman was literally running around the stage during HYHU and Trey was jumping all over the place during first tube. Oh, and we got a brand new song with a vacuum solo taboot?? Clear your minds and surrender to the flow, folks. Phish shows are rarely what you expect or want them to be, and there are certainly times when the playing feels tired, sloppy, and out of sync. Last night was not one of them. Please stop hating on shows that don’t fit your narrow definition of good/great!
, attached to 2022-08-14

Review by antelope_witcha

antelope_witcha Plenty of complaints about setlists for this Alpine run. If you attended, it was hard to miss all the good vibe, positive energy, sing-along songs especially Friday and Sunday (eg. Clear your Mind, Set your Soul Free, More, Energy, Soul Planet, etc.). Going out on a bit of a limb here, but I'm nearly certain we may have received [b]3 nights of songs All in a Major key.[/b] That might mean little to many, and nothing to plenty, but Phish (and most bands actually) have oodles of songs in Minor keys. To avoid them completely would be not coincidental IMO. I think we got Majorly punked by the band, and I for one, feel like the positivity that gave us to take back to the world was a gift.
, attached to 2022-08-14

Review by Pinhead_Larry

Pinhead_Larry When Phish gave the nod to the famous Alpine ‘99 show on Saturday, I was really hoping they’d give a nod to the famous Alpine ‘19 show tonight, but alas they had other plans. And plus I’ve often found that when you put something that *you* want from them in the universe, 9/10 times it works the opposite. Well anyway, Phish have given us so many good shows this summer that one of them was bound to be a fizzle. Highlights? Well there really isn’t any, but there’s also nothing really bad except for frustrating set list calls. There’s nothing “technically” bad with this show except that it felt more like a good TAB show than a good Phish show. All of this to say that you really aren’t missing anything if you wanna skip this one. Overall, I had a fun experience at Alpine Valley and I’d likely make the trek back for another 3-nighter. It really is a beautiful venue and the weather was perfect. I just hope the talkers got their fill of Phish because I could not seem to shake them all 3 nights!
, attached to 2022-08-14

Review by Offshoredrilling

Offshoredrilling Well, I guess it is ok to miss a Sunday show every once in a while. The band just seemed a bit rundown. The entire first set really lacked any sort of flow, and frankly, was not well played. No energy at all. Which is ironic, because “Energy “ to open the second set was further indication that this wasn’t going to get better. I try to never bash this band, because they have given me so much joy in my life, but sometimes you have to call it like it is. This show was a dud, nothing I will come back and listen to. Can’t recall a tour in their entire career where the last show of the tour was the worst one played, but here we are. Some awesome music this summer, just not last night in East Troy. I’m sure I will receive hate for these comments, but they are true. On to Dicks!
, attached to 2022-08-13

Review by RubyWaves

RubyWaves Last night was my kind of show, and I'll tell you why. 1999 opener to start things off (the first time they played it without a gimmick, fun fact) immediately followed by Fluffhead and the hype was off the charts for this motherfucker. And then Fluffhead starts getting out there and Trey lays down the funk siren like it's 1997 again!?!?! Hell yeah! The Fluff jam trucks along going in lots of satisfying places, and gives way to Saw It Again, which is as evil as it should be. An amazing opening sequence. Leaves gets its second Type 2 version and quickly goes into a patient segue into BOTT. Taste made me extremely happy, being one of my all-time favorite Phish songs, and this version was a definite improvement over MPP's. And then, the crutch to many. Petrichor makes its return for the first time since COVID hit. I don't care. This was a good spot for it, and it was well played. You can tell by how much they were soundchecking it the extent of them wanting to get it down, and it payed off. If you let it ruin the entire show, then well, that's on you. Coil then comes bringing a gorgeous close to the end of the 1st (was also super excited, Coil being my favorite set closer ever). Set 2 opens with the first #L since 2011. And it's pretty good. Just like Fluff, it goes through a bunch of satisfying places until a great transition into Maze. Maze tears it up, probably the best one I've heard all year, and then we get to the song of the night for me, this Mr. Completely. Wades through the darkness (shoutouts to Page), then ascends to the light by way of a Crazy Train tease, with an excellently executed return to the song and a big rock ending. Immediately has become one of my all-time favorite versions of the song. 4th quarter keeps it up despite looking weird, with Roggae and ATR being some of the best versions I've heard of those songs in a hot minute (ESPECIALLY ATR), then Waves does its thing well before slamming right into Undermind (I'd like to think they were tributing 8/15/11). Phenomenal Undermind, and it closes the set especially well for a song that doesn't close sets (outside of that famous one we all know). Trey takes an especially long time introducing the band (he even said "I'm Trey, I play guitar" again!), and a solid Blaze On encore sends us home. It really might not look like that much, but personally, Phish absolutely killed it last night, and is one where I would highly advise playing back again if you're skeptical. Just don't let Petrichor ruin your whole night, ok?
, attached to 2022-08-13

Review by mgolia6

mgolia6 Alpine 2 (View from the couch) they say that if you ride the ski lifts of Alpine valley on a foggy night you can hear the wailing of Stevie Ray Vaughn’s guitar accompanied by the strained whirring of propellers. While this is compelling it offers little relief for the weary traveler as they trek to this Mecca of rock folklore, though for a brief moment, if you are lucky, you can hear that signature tone of SRV melt into the Wisconsin evening. Whether or not the folklore is true Alpine a valley itself, is legendary. “The Fastest Way to Fun” as the slopes boast, has brought many of treat as well as many a controversy. But tonight was about Treat. The musical nod to the 99 32 minute fluff apparent from the get with the opening triplet of 1999, Fluffhead, and Saw it again. The only thing better would have been to drop a Hahahaha right afterwards. The fluff went deep and before the ethereal glide into Saw it Again it had some heavy metal trodding licks which were reminiscent of Free (think MOMA->Free from Key-Span). A pass through leaves and then smoking type 1 takes on BOTT and Taste led to Petrichor. Rounding out set one is a flourishing Coil with a boyish page left to greet the crowd after his solo outro. Early indications Number Line ushers in set two with gusto and continues the band’s clinic on whole band interplay. The maze is melds into was seemingly tee’d up high and ready to be driven to the motherland but this Maze stayed succinctly in its type 2 majesty which gave the subsequent Mr Completely a chance to stretch its legs. Proficient playing followed with tight composition and tendencies towards otherworldly jams but never quite went outside the realm of great. And after a beautifully played Roggae, the closing triplet had no chance stacking up against the opening three songs. A tame blaze on sent the crowd shuffling back to their vehicles and another tight well played show notched its mark on this summer’s tour. Methinks that such an amazing run as this tour has been, that great night of music are the norm, so no complaints here. Just not a crazy stunner on night 2 in Wisconsin. Here is hoping some of the SRV mojo weaves its way down hill for Sunday. Mahalo Nui, Matthew
, attached to 2022-08-13

Review by Rjatl

Rjatl First Set - yes please! Best Fluffhead ever?!! Possibly. Chula Fluffhead > NICU > bye bye foot still my favorite. Chula is probably my favorite show post 2000. Second set - Meh. Weird flow. About to run raged as always. Overall, 7.2. 5.1 without the Fluffhead and I saw it again. More words. Is this long enough yet. You can’t post a review that’s not really long so I’m typing more weirds to make it longer. Apparently length does matter.
, attached to 2022-08-13

Review by drobs22

drobs22 I was not there for this show but just listened to the first set on live phish. I never write anything here but frequent the site..however I felt so moved I just had to add a comment here. That first set was absolutely the best I have heard as far as cohesion, song selection, flow and execution. If it sounded this good recorded what it must have sounded like at Alpine, congratulations happy happy o my friend! I had my only show at a Alpine Valley for that summer '99 show(and caught that first 1999 cover the previous NYE) and it was massy (as my ol tour buddy used to say), so that was pretty cool to hear the nod to that very formative year of shows for me. To hear something so well put together 23 years later is astonishing . There were a couple "sour" notes from Trey but it got me thinking about how critical I can get (and hear others do the same) of our coveted favorite band. To stand before that big of a crowd, playing such intricate, delicate and complex music night after night..well, as a guitarist it terrifies me to the bone to think about that many people hanging on my every note. Anyways, my point being that all four of these guys have balls of steel to have ever have pulled off what they do over and over again. So I for one, I will be a bit more forgiving if there a couple of notes played..shall we say..not as planned (besides there are no "wrong" note right?). This set though, they played all the right notes. Peace and love y'all!
, attached to 2022-08-10

Review by jaosnlikesphun

jaosnlikesphun Trey seemed genuinely excited to be back in Toronto. Fun small venue laid back people. Becoming my fave modern summer stop, coming up from Rochester NY. I feel like both sets flowed so well and the phellers took their time with each song. So much inspired exploration. 1st set: The Sigma Blaze to kick it all off was syrupy smooth. No filler in first set. We even get a funky patient Wombat. I’m leaving out so much here like that amazing Theme. The close out with a tasty Sand I mean come on. 1st set gold with a beautiful Toronto sunset. 2nd set opens with a Sample DWD and I have to say this Sample is a smidge more fantastic than Bethel. I love how it winds down into a spacey vibe only for Mike to kick our ass with his bass drop into DWD. Sweet Jesus. 20 years later and I picked my jaw off the ground as we shift gears later for one more piece: 2001 to Sally to Free. We have liftoff. Thanks for the love Phish. And one final thing, someone commented about the missing lot pre game and no Shakedown, but I love how the Toronto shows have more laid back energy. There’s so much to do during the day and it feels great to slide into a mellow phish scene towards evening. O’ Canada
, attached to 2022-08-13

Review by Pinhead_Larry

Pinhead_Larry I really hope you can hear the audience cheers and whistles during Petrichor because this is just one of those rare moments where nature and Phish are in synch. I was in the bathroom during the opening notes of it (I left a few songs earlier) and when I came out to find my spot Trey is belting out “and the RAAAAIIIINNNN” right as the rain had picked up. It was completely dry when I left so it was very surreal to come out to come out to that; almost like Phish was strong enough to command the weather. It’s just something that isn’t going to translate on tape, but hopefully given this context you’ll understand exactly why Petrichor was perfect as the penultimate song in the first set. Second set is quite odd, but looks are deceiving. Give it a chance and realize that BDTNL is actually a banger of an opener. Mr. Completely>Roggae is probably the highlight IMO, mostly because they settle on a tight groove and let it air out before a seamless Roggae transition. The other cool thing is when someone talks about the Alpine Fluffhead, we now get to say “which one?”
, attached to 2022-08-12

Review by makisupaman

makisupaman So great to be back at the home of Phish for so many Midwesterners, myself included (it’s as near a home venue for this South Dakotan as I’ve ever had and the site of my first shows in 2004). Indeed, the geographical extent of the market served by Alpine’s 40,000 capacity amphitheater brings a lively mix of regional audiences all points south, west, and east, contributing to a celebratory atmosphere of arrival. We made it! Clear your mind! Trey seemed intent on demonstrating his lead chops through tight, major key bliss and rock. The first three quarters stayed within the fairly standard awesome range, which Moma’s departure a lone but noted exception. Starting with Ghost, which struck me as maybe being too late to deliver, shifted the dynamic decidedly to darker and minor key exploration, which bled seemlessly into my first encounter with The Howling, a serene Simple, and to my ears the song of the night in David Bowie. The latter never really found it’s place in 3.0 amidst the reinvention of so many other old guard deep cuts, but this version is attacking, undeterred, and transcendent. We’ll always ask for More Lizards, and in the encore slot? Thanks much! I expect some different layers to emerge as the weekend continues. Regardless, we’ll get our asses handed. It’s Alpine. It’s what happens here.
, attached to 2022-08-12

Review by Astral_clown

Astral_clown 17th show last night and back to where it all began for me in 2009, Hello Wisconsin! There were highs (nudge nudge wink wink...errr) and there were some lows. First, I didn't realize that this wasn't the RATM show, I read the calendar wrong (ba dum tsss). I thought that they blasted out of the gate strong with Fuego, I was like, okay, this could be really exciting, off to a GREAT start, locked in and getting the crowd fired up (I'm here for two more nights, folks! Please tip your servers!). Then they immediately slowed it down with Clear Your Mind, and I said okay, I have no idea where this thing is headed. The interplay of CYM into Twist was great, the counterpoint singing was on point (see what I did there?) but I felt like they didn't commit to the silliness enough that can get that sweet, sweet cosmic mojo flowing. Let me note, based on my limited number of shows, I thought that technically they sounded great, they were very, very tight. But about at the point when they started up Halley's Comet, my wife (the true vet, Alpine '98) and I looked at each other and asked, are we going to get another paint-by-the-numbers show here? We were fortunate enough to get to Deer Creek on the spring tour for three nights and have been listening to the rest of the shows this year on LP (I just have no idea how this band makes any money ????), so we are quite familiar with this tour's setlists. If you checked the gap chart for last night's show (you clever statisticians you), you'll see that the average was over 12, but that was only because of Destiny Unbound, which had been waiting in the wings since last October. Side note- We were also at the phenomenal Deer Creek run last year, and I'm referring to the Saturday night show in particular. If you look at the gap chart for that one, it was at about a 10 but the energy and jams were so good that they could have played the entire SO album start to finish and it wouldn't have mattered. So to travel the width of a circle, we are hoping that they go deeper and/or wider the rest of the weekend, as the comment about this summer tour has been "Reliable, but safe". Moving on, there were some wonderful jams sprinkled (Sparkled? Nope, still chasing) throughout the night. We're listening back to the show now and the songs other people have referenced as being solid (Moma, David Bowie is a must-listen as well) are what we are hoping for the rest of the weekend. I would like to point out that the section of the hill we were dancing in was very chill, and other than the Alpinist skills required to get around (Could we get a ski-lift put in? Just asking) I LOVE this venue. Ultimately, it was really fun and I can't wait to see what happens the next two nights. Oh and I'm calling a cover open tonight...hmm... acapella I Am The Walrus due to the multiple Beatles songs they've been doing lately. See ya out there!
, attached to 2022-08-12

Review by Astral_clown

Astral_clown 17th show last night and back to where it all began for me in 2009, Hello Wisconsin! There were highs (nudge nudge wink wink...errr) and there were some lows. First, I didn't realize that this wasn't the RATM show, I read the calendar wrong (ba dum tsss). I thought that they blasted out of the gate strong with Fuego, I was like, okay, this could be really exciting, off to a GREAT start, locked in and getting the crowd fired up (I'm here for two more nights, folks! Please tip your servers!). Then they immediately slowed it down with Clear Your Mind, and I said okay, I have no idea where this thing is headed. The interplay of CYM into Twist was great, the counterpoint singing was on point (see what I did there?) but I felt like they didn't commit to the silliness enough that can get that sweet, sweet cosmic mojo flowing. Let me note, based on my limited number of shows, I thought that technically they sounded great, they were very, very tight. But about at the point when they started up Halley's Comet, my wife (the true vet, Alpine '98) and I looked at each other and asked, are we going to get another paint-by-the-numbers show here? We were fortunate enough to get to Deer Creek on the spring tour for three nights and have been listening to the rest of the shows this year on LP (I just have no idea how this band makes any money ????), so we are quite familiar with this tour's setlists. If you checked the gap chart for last night's show (you clever statisticians you), you'll see that the average was over 12, but that was only because of Destiny Unbound, which had been waiting in the wings since last October. Side note- We were also at the phenomenal Deer Creek run last year, and I'm referring to the Saturday night show in particular. If you look at the gap chart for that one, it was at about a 10 but the energy and jams were so good that they could have played the entire SO album start to finish and it wouldn't have mattered. So to travel the width of a circle, we are hoping that they go deeper and/or wider the rest of the weekend, as the comment about this summer tour has been "Reliable, but safe". Moving on, there were some wonderful jams sprinkled (Sparkled? Nope, still chasing) throughout the night. We're listening back to the show now and the songs other people have referenced as being solid (Moma, David Bowie is a must-listen as well) are what we are hoping for the rest of the weekend. I would like to point out that the section of the hill we were dancing in was very chill, and other than the Alpinist skills required to get around (Could we get a ski-lift put in? Just asking) I LOVE this venue. Ultimately, it was really fun and I can't wait to see what happens the next two nights. Oh and I'm calling a cover open tonight...hmm... acapella I Am The Walrus due to the multiple Beatles songs they've been doing lately. See ya out there!
, attached to 2022-08-12

Review by Pinhead_Larry

Pinhead_Larry Overall solid show start to finish. Tight playing, but missing “that one jam,” with the exception of MOMA, which probably last spread its wings in ‘17 maybe? The second set techno/abstract prog of Ass Handed through Ghost is well worth listening to. SYSF is beautiful in the last couple minutes, which paired with CK5’s lights was otherworldly on the lawn. I mean it was seriously some gorgeous playing. Ghost is the real deal! So here’s the thing with Phish for me that I’ve noticed; when I’m listening to a show for the first time, either in concert or on tape, if a jam is real tasty, I’m the world’s worst timekeeper. For instance, I remember the Deer Creek Sand felt like 18-20 minutes and was shocked I’d witnessed 35 minutes of a jam when I saw the official SBD times. This Ghost is the same feeling, but opposite timing. It went through some serious peaks and then another section of Ass Handed quotes with some music teetering on the verge of type II, I thought it was easily in the 17-20 minute range lol. Timing be damned, this is an exciting Ghost that forgoes the usual Gin-like approach that’s been well established since 2009. David Bowie was a great call to end the set. Normally I’m not a big fan of this song in 3.0/4.0, but this one had some extra mustard on it and Trey absolutely nails the trills at the end. Or at least I remember thinking that in person, and I tend to be pretty critical of this song the few times I’ve seen it. The only thing that sucked for me about this show were the people around me chatting nonstop through the second set and a venue worker walking through our section yelling “LAST CALL FOR ALCOHOL” sometime in the middle of the second set. Dude has an impressive yell as I could still here him as he walked past me to 100s of yards away, but it was kind of a mood killer. Hopefully the venue is a bit more liberal with alcohol sales on Saturdays. Overall great show with couple of jams worth revisiting. I’m feeling a 3.75 +/- .1. Can’t wait to see what tomorrow has in store!
, attached to 2022-08-12

Review by mgolia6

mgolia6 (View from the couch) with a two year old and a two month old the chances are exceedingly rare these days that I might catch a Phish show live. Hoping 2023 is the year for me and my wife to get back to some real normalcy. So the luxuries afforded us in this digital age, like live streams and webcasts, while possibly lost on others as sacrilege, with sentiments like, “you just had to be there,” or “webcasts don’t count!” Are actually the only option or outlet to connect to what we used to love to do in person: go see Phish on tour. Anyway, got to catch the first set of this one. Damnit if they had to play DWYS again which always knocks this aging brethren out. It was a solid half of Music with excitement spawning out of MOMA, energetic takes on Clear Your Mind and Destiny Inbound and real treat in a Twist. What really caught my attention was the looseness of the band and in particular, Trey Smiles. Trey just couldn’t stop goofball laughing throughout the first half. Anyway. Much love to y’all. Mahalo Nui Matthew
, attached to 1989-08-12

Review by thelot

thelot The sound quality on this one isn’t great. It’s an ok audience recording with a handful of cassette generations in it’s lineage. All we have to review for this one is Set 2 and the first two songs from Set 3. Lots of cover debuts at this show. Mike was on vocals for a pretty bad cover of the Allmann Bros “Blue Sky”. Maybe it’s the recording quality but this show didn’t do anything for me. YEM was the only highlight and it’s a pretty standard YEM for the time. Also, Steve’s drum work for Antelope was pretty good.
, attached to 2017-07-16

Review by fillmore

fillmore On the third night of their tour opening Chicago run Phish delivered the best show of the run. This was a well rounded and tight gig. The unlikely "Possum" opener unleashed a great energy in the crowd which could only be matched by a raging "Antelope" to close the first set. This run was the first time that I saw Phish in concert and indeed this "Antelope" is among my strongest memories. Finally, on the third night, during this very "Antelope" several light-bulbs went off as I realised this is what they mean when they refer to "raging Phish" (i.e. in the 1990s). "Carini" had a good jam, but the typical placement in the third quarter spoiled the element of surprise. Luckily, as I write these notes in 2022, the band has gone back to unpredictably jamming at all points in the show. Debuting yet another song so late in the run came as a surprise and "Thread"'s proggy structure seemed promising at the time. Later in the set "2001" taught me another lesson, because this tune, which I hadn't held in high regard up to that point, turned out to be the biggest climax and dance party yet. Having listened to hundreds of recordings I still had no idea what function this song assumes until I saw 30.000 Phish fans with my own eyes groove with abandon to the song's baseline funk and explode like fireworks during its peaks. "Charakter Zero" closed out the show and run in big, rocking fashion. While the first night of the run was too cautious, the second night had a dissappointing first set, this third night left nothing to be desired!
, attached to 2017-07-16

Review by fillmore

fillmore On the third night of their tour opening Chicago run Phish delivered the best show of the run. This was a well rounded and tight gig. The unlikely "Possum" opener unleashed a great energy in the crowd which could only be matched by a raging "Antelope" to close the first set. This run was the first time that I saw Phish in concert and indeed this "Antelope" is among my strongest memories. Finally, on the third night, during this very "Antelope" several light-bulbs went off as I realised this is what they mean when they refer to "raging Phish" (i.e. in the 1990s). "Carini" had a good jam, but the typical placement in the third quarter spoiled the element of surprise. Luckily, as I write these notes in 2022, the band has gone back to unpredictably jamming at all points in the show. Debuting yet another song so late in the run came as a surprise and "Thread"'s proggy structure seemed promising at the time. Later in the set "2001" taught me another lesson, because this tune, which I hadn't held in high regard up to that point, turned out to be the biggest climax and dance party yet. Having listened to hundreds of recordings I still had no idea what function this song assumes until I saw 30.000 Phish fans with my own eyes groove with abandon to the song's baseline funk and explode like fireworks during its peaks. "Charakter Zero" closed out the show and run in big, rocking fashion. While the first night of the run was too cautious, the second night had a dissappointing first set, this third night left nothing to be desired!
, attached to 2017-07-15

Review by fillmore

fillmore My second Phish concert, after having seen the band the very first time the previous night. I had a lawn ticket for this gig. The lawn was very far away and was essentially just the back of the plain field. Unless you were on the rail that seperated the "floor" from the "lawn" you could barely see the band on the stage so you had to rely on the video screens. Also sound was not as loud as upfront. The lawn offered a better view of Chicago's beautiful skyline though because one was further away from the stage and so the stage didn't block the view so much. After the sun had set the illuminated skyline was a breathtaking sight I will remember forever and it's documented well on the official pictures. Partly as a result of being on the lawn I experienced this concert as a dichotomous show: From afar the first set seemed extremely lackluster and dull, despite having a strong tune as opener, the rocking "Stealing Time From The Faulty Plan". Surely this is the weakest set of this three-night Chicago run as confirmed by many relistens of the recording. The second set is where the band got into the zone, delivering a long jam on "Simple" with the lyrics "We got skycrapers" seemingly referencing Chicago, the very city where the skycraper was invented. The "Simple"-jam tortured us for several minutes with strong teases of "Timber" without properly segueing into it. "Winterqueen" featured a touching solo. At this point in the show I had figured out how to best use the few advantages of the lawn, standing and sitting freely on the grass in the back in front of a PA-speaker and a video screen with room to move around, enjoying the cooler summer night's air and the flow of the music. Ultimately "Loving Cup" sent us home with a huge Rock & Roll finale...
, attached to 2017-07-14

Review by fillmore

fillmore This was my first Phish show which made the "What's the Use" opener kinda anticlimatic because I wasn't very familiar with this odd track as it was much less common back then compared to the time of writing this in 2022. However, it is a brilliant and magic opener and it set the tone for a rather curious show which we primarily remember for its many debuts. It came as a surprise to see the band gather around the mic for an acapella number so early in the concert and while most did not know "In The Good Old Summertime" it was easy enough to grasp, very fitting for the occasion plus short enough to not interrupt the flow too much. As an avid follower of Trey's solo output I knew "Everything's Right" though. The tune has been in the rotation as jam vehicle ever since this debut outing and many longer Phish versions followed but none of them were as sharp as this one. As a matter of fact this version remains my favourite, constituting a strong case for quality over quantity. In the second set "Leaves" was another surprise, it felt like an Elton John song. Coming back for the encore with an unknown Reggae tune was of course another surprise, I naturally assumed this would be a Bob Marley song I wasn't familiar with. This "Love Is What We Are" was perfectly placed in the setlist as it appropriately brought the lovely vibes of "In The Good Old Summertime" to a full circle, given this was an open air venue under a perfect summer sky. It makes me smile to this day and I wish they would bring it back...
, attached to 2022-08-10

Review by ccburke

ccburke Old vet returns, Blossom was my 1st show since 2013 after 137 others mainly 91-99 , i also must note I’ve listened live to every show since 09’ fluffhead minus a few west coast 2nd sets. Anyway love the band as much these days as back then but I’m not a fan of everything so here’s an honest review if the gig. Let’s just start by saying in my history there was never such a lane lot scene , no shakedown what so ever, nought some pot at the dispensary, hoping to buy glass on lot but nooo , so if someone tells you they are on 22’ tour they more than likely are lying . Teo guys selling pins in all of Canada lol Sigma Oasis open ended jam vehicle in 1st set is always welcome , Blaze on same response as opener only add that I saw this at blossom and in set two when sound gets turned up so this one wasn’t blossom, Steam was next , my 1st one live in person it didn’t disappoint it was great , mso , then a great Theme , honestly here is where I can tell you the band has progressed, songs like this , and later sample free are all jam vehicles. Wombat was next and honestly the only real creative song that hasn’t been played this tour they played in Toronto , mso yeah big deal, anyway Stash was next it made me cry it was beautiful buttery jam stuff, the sand closed and rocked straight from start to bottom . Second set was ok but definitely not as good as one and set list was pretty uninspired if you ask me sample was the best one I’ve ever seen , at one point in the mid 90s I hated that song , i could see it every night if they play it opem like that. DWD was a repeat from the weekend, it was great but Mr Completely woild of been my call . The rest of the set was blah till Sally it wasn’t jammed out very long and I headed toward the door, lane boy had me at the gate. Santos came on and although I like this tune the ave set two had me on my way back to New York early. They had three days off a day off after and all we got was a my sweet one and wombat , i don’t blame them no one is on tour anymore that was evident on lot but this band now can jam sample and free like tweezer so it’s pretty good, only other complaint was talking around me was out of control . Go to the lawn and talk or at least whisper so you don’t ruin others concert
, attached to 2022-08-07

Review by BigCypress

BigCypress I went to the show with my buddies my family my girl and my son. After seeing a lot of fish this year including the New Year’s run in April both man shows and both Meriwether shows I was here to enjoy my second night in Atlantic City from the start of the show with the opening Wolfman‘s and the vibe from the friends and the family I knew this was gonna be our show of the year the whole first that was amazing including a near perfect Midsouth Fluffhead in a rocking end of Ceccherini as soon as I heard the Carini I ran back to my crew with my water bottles in hand and dance my butt off my six-year-old son played on the beach with a bunch of kids that he met in this felt more like any fish festival than any of the recent shows we have been at The second set did not did not disappoint and that Mike’s groove had us all dancing and had those painful feet feel in the feels that we would feel the rest of the set rocked out and I think this was my favorite show out of the six that I’ve seen recently and what I like to dub the mid Atlantic run can’t wait to see some more fish who knows win but hopefully soon
, attached to 2022-08-10

Review by andrewrose

andrewrose My official recap for the show, edited slightly and reposted after a chance to listen back. [b]“Toronto From the Top”[/b] Welcome to Canada y’all. Been a while. Has it? Time sure feels messy these days, and this band just keeps on plugging away blowing our minds despite it all. In any case, I feel like there’s a lot of ways to set the context for last night’s show in Toronto. We could call back to the band’s recent history at the venue in 2019 (a show [url=https://phish.net/reviews/1378446133-andrewrose.html]I thought was unfairly maligned[/url]), or whether or not they’d bust out Misty Mountain Hop which they debuted here in 1999. And then there’s the context of this unique tour, which has at times been brilliant and at other moments feeling like maybe the momentum of their revived post-Covid identity has been waning a bit, Trey especially. I said to a new friend before the show that really the biggest knock on 2022 is that it’s sitting right next to 2021, a year in which the band performed to a level they really had no business doing this late in the game. So what would this tour’s Canadian stop add to the story? Would it be a throwaway gig between AC and Alpine, or a can’t miss, out of the way gem? Where do we stand? Let’s find out… Like they have been for the most part on this tour, the show opened strong, with a beautiful jam out of “Sigma Oasis” that was interesting from the outset. Trey seemed rested, looser, and Page seemed energized as well in a way I haven’t quite heard him yet this tour. After the two shows I saw in Bethel where Mike and Fish really stood out, I was really feeling and hearing more balance in the sound, Trey taking his time, deliberate, but then very much nailing those licks and highs when he went for them, and Page feeding on that. I’m getting ahead of myself, as much of that became more apparent later, but in the meantime, a soulful “Sigma Oasis” blended seamlessly via a slick segue into -> “Blaze On.” It worked great in the two spot, made the quick nod to the Canadian cannabis vibe and packed a lot of punch in the limited run time. So a twenty minute pairing of Phish’s more anthemic modern-day originals bound by a beauty segue opens the show, and we’re in very good shape already. Of course after you blaze, you “Steam.” I really appreciated the space here—it did the band good and was a great call to shift the vibe, just oozing with ‘we only just got going’ energy. Again, you could tell there was looseness and energy and good choices being made sonically. There weren’t many throw away notes tonight, and nothing I’d really recommend skipping because the band was putting polish every moment. “My Sweet One” is the only breather of the set really, if you can call the old bluegrass original a breather. We all hopped for two minutes and no longer then Trey struck up “Theme from the Bottom.” You know, one week shy of exactly twenty five years ago I saw another really good Theme. It wasn’t in Canada but it was close; it was way up in a little town called Limestone, in Maine, and festival numero deux, aka The Great Went. That, to up this show was probably the best Theme I had seen, unless maybe you count 2/25/03. Well either way, this Theme and its mesmerizing jam shot immediately up to contend and I dare say surpasses them both easily. Trey only stumbled slightly in the composed climb (which has been more the rule than the exception in recent years let’s be honest), and quickly makes up for it. The centre piece of an already great set, that also finished really strong. Must hear, as they say, and not merely for the novelty of the full type II jam emerging from it just before the five minute mark, but also for its beauty and execution, and the sheer power and confidence with which it came back around to Theme to end. I suspect this one is going to get a lot of replay. Maybe Phish was listening to Phish Radio the day of the show like me as I drove over from Montreal, and caught the 8/10/2018 Wombat and figured why not bring it out to dance. Again, this had, in addition to the funky dance party, a little bit of excited playfulness. Like the Steamx don’t let the run time deter you from a listen; the final few minutes are full of interest effects and enthusiasm. Cuddly, yet muscular, if you will? After the Theme they just oozed with confidence for the rest of the night and it’s on full display with this Wombat. “Stash” shows up too, a Toronto-staple by now for obvious reasons, and like its predecessor here in 2019 has a beautiful ethereal jam woven in. Trey had command of this Stash from the get go, very sharp in the composed section, confidence growing, and the jam is beautiful. Not only that, but like the Theme the return to Stash was punctuated with so much energy and extra licks that if you blinker you might have easily thought it was 1994. In a show this populated with gems it might be easy to overlook this Stash if your listening time is limited. Don’t. Thank me later. And then “Sand” washes everyone down with its own powerful punch that carries through the momentum. It’s a tough jam to describe in that it doesn’t really go fully out of the box, but still somehow swells organically, echoing some of these quick, big glow-up finales they’ve been pulling off, not unlike the “Ghost” that closed the first set on 7/22. This had similar energy, but also was woven delicately somehow too, and like the “Stash” Trey seemed to be at ease with the machine gun calling back to “Sand.” Listen for the extra fills from Trey as they’re closing it out. He was *feeling it*. There’s been a trend the last year or so of diverging into interesting type II territory and then kind of clumsily returning to or reprising the end of the song quite suddenly, which sometimes works but you could argue was maybe happening a little too much at times. Tonight saw the band with a lot more patience, returning to themes more organically to close things out, which was very satisfying. So a fantastic first frame, and I gotta give it to them to be keeping things so lively and interesting so early in the show. By now this isn’t news—that you sleep on the first set at your peril—but its easy to forgot for much of the last 13 years that rarely the case. “Sample in a Jar” had also gotten some play from me earlier in the day on my drive over, and the song has been fresh in my mind since seeing its stand-out 15-minute version in Bethel recently. That jam has gotten a bunch of replay from me for its delicate exploration. But it was the in-the-box 2019 version from Toronto I was listening to, for its machine-gun punch (seriously that’s one of the better Type I Sample’s you’ll ever hear, if you’re into that thing…). So ladies and gentlemen let me introduce you to your new favourite jam vehicle, Sample in a Jar. I thought for a minute it was unlikely they’d go for it the same way they did in Bethel and instead offer a shorter version to start the set before diving into the good stuff. Not so. We get another tasty 12 minute exploration that goes spacey before Page pulls out some very funky effects and sends the band on a swell that almost had a 2.0 like sound. Very different from the Bethel version, and you could argue some of the most interesting and innovative jamming of the night. This too is must hear, and descends fittingly into > “Down with Disease.” For those keeping score, the highlight of the 2013 show here was also a “Down with Disease.” You had a sense this was coming and let me tell you, this one did not disappoint. Trey was full of fresh ideas and playing with confidence from the outset, more nimble than I’ve heard him since last year. They were having fun and it showed. It’s mostly in the Disease-box until bout the 8 minute mark until Page starts leading the band into more sparkly territory, and by around the 12 minute mark it has settled down and a lilting sonic soundscape emerges, with Trey pulling off lovely leads. The first half of this jam probably most closely resembles some of the jamming style we’ve seen a lot of this summer, but then takes soulful turn. I think it was around this moment that I leaned over to a new friend and mentioned it sounded like Jerry was in the building, what with this being the first day after the days between, those moments marked this year between what would have been his 80th birthday on the 1st, and the anniversary of his passing on the 9th. So the last five minutes of the Disease jam hit some absolutely gorgeous moments and then Trey leads the band through its second flawless segue of the night, fittingly, into “Death Don’t Hurt Very Long.” Nod to Jer, ‘up from the ground’? Either way, it was a perfect landing pad for another great start to a set. “Twenty Years Later” plays a role similar to the Steam in the first set, stretching out and giving room, and features some great slower-tempo explorations of its own in the final four minutes. Exploratory, dark, menacing and engaging stuff, and again nothing to skip here. It settles nicely and then Trey brings “Light” out of the darkness. I thought the “Light” was a great call here, and a welcome addition to the set considering its airtime seems to have been reduced somewhat in recent years with all the other new material making its way into the setlist. “Light” too, featured nimble interplay, lightness, patience and fun effects towards the end, including brief Sand quotes, another highlight in a show full of them. They come around to seemingly composed-like phrases to end the jam which in retrospect sounds like an attempt at a full segue into “Bouncing Around the Room” but is more fittingly marked with a >. Good effect either way. I was happy to hear Bouncing in what would have been the Trey ballad spot, but this was the only song where the band seemed to lack a little coordination, and were looking at each other with a smirk or two off-time. If this is your radio hit boys, you better practice it! ;) A fourth-quarter one-two punch of “Also Sprach Zarathustra” and “Sneaking Sally Through the Alley” bring the dance party that very much livened up the place. Neither took off into jammy territory per se but both were pretty flawlessly executed with little extra touches here, the 2001 especially with Trey making good crunchy use of his effects in the middle section. “Free” caps things off, fresh off of its 25 minute performance on 8/2, this one runs about half that time as a set closer but is very much worth your attention, not unlike the first set “Sand.” Mike steps up at the mid-way point and Trey is able to sit back and just riff before coming in with his own phrasing. To my ears by the end of this jam he’s sounding almost reborn as a guitarist, and by the sounds of the way he sang ‘I feel free’—with way more emphasis than I’ve ever heard him do before—maybe he felt the same. “Thank you, we love you, we love coming here, that was just too much fun.” I like it too! “Lawn Boy” in the encore spot was a nice unexpected touch, and gave Mike an opportunity to shine with some soulful playing before “Say It To Me S.A.N.T.O.S.” sent us home with smiles on our faces. I’m pretty sure I will remember where I was on 8/10/22. Have fun in Alpine folks, that’s it for this canuck’s 2022 reporting. Unless we get some fall shows…?
, attached to 2022-08-10

Review by phishphan1984

phishphan1984 So as a Canadian this was my first Canadian phishing trip. I’ve been to some great shows in the States, and my buddies in Toronto had all told me that Phish hadn’t produced a solid show there since the early 90s. Needless to say to those who attended, but I’m very glad I made the trip. For one, the company was great - my best bud and I have been trying to make a show together since high school so it was only fitting that 20 years later made an appearance. Took my bro for his 1st show. Venue was solid and I got to enjoy them both out on the small floor up front and on the lawn. But the main event was excellent. Many highlights for a show that didn’t have a 20+ minute song but ventured into type II jams early and often. Tiptoeing in to 30+ straight minutes of Sigma, Blaze On, and Steam was a phenomenal set 1 opening. Theme from the Bottom was the standout of the set for me, beautifully led and flowing. Love that Fishman still gets Trey to crack up and come in late on his lines in Wombat. Stash and Sand are both worth a re-listen and closed out an excellent first set. Set 2 kicked off with the longest Sample in a Jar ever, I believe, and in conjunction with DwD is another 30+ min gem. Really patient with a mellow DwD and just like Halloween, punctuated a sweet jam with a goofy Death Don’t Hurt Very Long. Don’t know if the title sequence of Down With Disease - Death Don’t Hurt Very Long - 20 Years Later - Light was meant to be poetic, but I appreciated it all the same. The latter 2 hit serenely with the changing views after sunset, and then they dialed up the energy with a funky 2001-Sally into an averagely excellent Free to close another set that is most definitely worth a listen. Encore was solid but S.A.N.T.O.S was a bit of an odd choice to finish on, and I was wishing for a longer 2001, but those were my only old man grumblings about an amazing show. Proud to have a great Canadian show to look back on, come back soon!
, attached to 2022-07-30

Review by eliotter

eliotter Beautiful night, not overly hot. Fun show, well-played, nice variety in the set. Gave it a 4/5 because I enjoyed it "more than average." Random thoughts: -The If I Could was a real 1st set curveball / cooler but I was 100% bought in at the end and the lawn was singing along. - The Llama felt insanely fast -- was it actually faster than the tempo normally gets these days for Llama? Please tell me what you thought. Pros of this show: - Funky bangers to start each set with Sand and First Tube, respectively - Deep jams on SYSF and Fuego, with interesting moments on each - Nice Meatstick, flashback to 1999 at Merriweather Cons of this show: - Despite a psychedelic crab T-shirt for the shows, no Walfredo was played
, attached to 2022-08-10

Review by Antel0pe

Antel0pe Strong show compared to recent stops in Toronto. Some good stuff packed in there for sure. Enjoyed quite a few moments in both sets but I'll stick to a few bullet points.. A long and exciting build in Theme fizzles into a gooey Wombat, and reminds us that Phish is not only crushing, but clearly having fun. Wombat is always a song I never expect, but when I hear it live.. I gotta get down! Dwd > DDHVL is a cool segue and worked well. Light covered some ground for 11 minutes, with a little Sand tease thrown in by Trey just for kicks. A surprising, yet welcome > into Bouncin' .. some might have feared the landing gear was being deployed... but what's that?? 2001 > Sally > Free to close S2. When fish starts up 2001 the audience reaction puts you right there. Summer 2022 baby. See ya'll at Dicks!
, attached to 1994-06-17

Review by MrPalmers1000DollarQ

MrPalmers1000DollarQ A show I love more for its novelty than any groundbreaking musicianship, though there's plenty of that as well. Runaway Jim ends up being an appropriate opener and, though no low-hanging "Runaway Juice" jokes transpire, absolutely rips. Foam likewise stacks up well against some other powerhouse versions from '93-'95, flaunting expert control over the dynamic spectrum and growing from silence to booming peak with a deft hand. The Melt in this show could be a bit disappointing if you're looking for some inventive jamming as has been customary in contemporary jam chart editions; but if you instead appreciate a droning, ever-ascending approach to cacophonous doom, you'll find no dearth of greatness here. A sweet If I Could and (maybe not the cleanest) PYITE then precede a short, but jammed Gin. Gin jam begins very playfully, with Mike, Page, and Trey all landing on melodies reminiscent of a schoolyard rhyme. Some rhythmic variance ends up giving way to a purely Type I jam which dies down on the tune's main melody nicely. A tight Mule and Cavern wrap up Set 1 quite nicely. Set 2 bares a heavy load earning this show the beloved status it enjoys today. Right off the bat, the OJ motif is clear, and every member of the band eats it up. Between the goofy allusions, though, there's plenty to love about this killer Mike's Groove. Working the early-state Simple into Mike's Song helps keep up a momentous energy that feels unstoppable. As the band quickly dips back into Mike's Song, Fishman's fills crush. Just as you expect H2, you're fooled with a calm and subdued Simple reprise before receiving the expected Groove close. Really awesome segment here. Next up is one of the best Harpua's (musically and narratively) I've ever heard--the band is really on top of this one. Although it's paired with perhaps the most deadpan Kung in history, both the pre- and post-Jimmy segments are incredibly spirited in playing. I found the Sparkle and BBJ choices a bit underwhelming considering the set thus far, but Julius and a slamming Frankenstein save the day with shred power. Love the Sleeping Monkey and Rocky Top pairing in the encore, as well.
, attached to 2003-02-28

Review by Jpdolan21

Jpdolan21 LOVE this show. Play it all the time. 2003 was a truly underrated year in Phish tour. Winter and summer tours both. Great set, great jams and sound is tight. Bathtub Gin, WOTC, BOTT, bowie, birds, hood, tweezer (THE BEST on this album and must hear), bouncing around the room and destiny unbound (that was brought back after 12 years). This album IMO does a great job focusing on Trey and Page jam sections and how well they listen off eachother, and also less focus on the early stuff and more on the past 5 years, still a good amount of older tracks
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2022  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode